Métis Nation—Saskatchewan represents the political, socioeconomic, cultural and educational interests of the province’s some 80,000 Métis citizens through a representative system based on 12 regions and approximately 130 Locals.

The fundamental principles which guide the governance of Métis Nation-Saskatchewan are based on the MN-S Constitution, The Métis Act, The Citizens Act, The Boundaries Act, The Senate Act, The MNLA Act, and The Wildlife and Conservation Action.

The governance structure includes the MN-S Senate, and a Cabinet—the Provincial Métis Council—which is composed of the four-member executive, as well as of elected officials from the 12 regions and appointees for women and youth.

MN-S was incorporated in 2000 and since then has worked towards implementing Métis self-government through litigation and strategic partnerships with government.